End of the Year Math Ideas – Part 2

Now that the year is winding down we teachers are in need of fun, meaningful activities to end the year on a good note.

In Part 1 of this series, I shared a Math Dictionary activity that I have my students create each year.  You can grab this activity and several others as part of my “We Made It!” End of the Year Math Bundle.

Today, I’d like to show you our annual Newspaper Scavenger Huntscavenger hunt

This fun scavenger hunt will show your students that Math really does exist outside the walls of your classroom. It features 24 Common Core Math concepts. I geared mine toward 6th grade, but you can quickly edit this Word document to fit your needs! It takes just seconds to edit it in seconds to fit your specific grade level.

About a week ahead of time, I send home a letter, asking for gently used newspapers or magazines.  I explain that we will be cutting out items, so they should not send anything valuable that they want to have returned.  You can  download a copy of the letter here.  Like the Scavenger Hunt, it’s in Word format, so you can edit it to suit your needs.

The students had a surprising amount fun searching for Math terms!  I usually have them work with a partner.  They can trade items with other groups if necessary.  To make it even more interesting, I offer a small prize for the team that can find the most terms.

Here is a completed copy from a previous year, before we switched to Common Core standards:scavenger hunt 1 (1)

I have the students label each item, to reinforce Math vocabulary.

Here are two more examples:

scavenger hunt 2

The activity usually takes 45 minutes to an hour.  Be sure to leave plenty of time for the students to clean up!

Leave a Reply

